Award Winners

Nutrition Entrepreneurs (NE) presents two annual awards to its members: Outstanding NE Member - who demonstrates originality and dedication to entrepreneurship in nutrition; and Student Award. Information about the awards and how to apply is available in the members-only area. We will open the awards for 2017 in March.

NE proudly applauds its members receiving these distinguised awards, plus those bestowed on NE members by our parent organization, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Congratulations!

2016 Outstanding Nutrition Entrepreneur Award Winner

 Faye Berger Mitchell, RDN, LDN

Faye Berger Mitchell has been in private practice in the Washington, DC metro area for over 25 years and was named one of DC’s top nutritionists by Washingtonian Magazine. The original private practice guru, she shares her knowledge and expertise with colleagues through workshops, private coaching and consultations, her Be Your Own Boss Starter Kit, and the publication she co-authored titled Making Nutrition Your Business – Private Practice and Beyond.

More recently, Faye launched, an e-magazine to help college students take the guesswork out of college eating. Delivering positively delicious expert advice, Foodie On Campus is the food guide for conscious college students. More than anything, Faye loves mentoring students by offering internship opportunities through Foodie On Campus.

Faye has been a speaker at many state and regional dietetic association meetings and has presented at multiple FNCE sessions. A guest lecturer at several colleges and universities, Faye was selected to give the Dorothy M. Proud lecture at Cornell University.

2016 Professional Development Student Award Winner

 Tara Condell

Tara Condell is a dietetic intern at James J. Peters VA Medical Center and completing her Masters of Science in Clinical Nutrition from New York University. She was a contributor to NE's student newsletter, was the former president of San Francisco State University's Student Dietetic Association, and has been the recipient of numerous scholarships, including the Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics Irene Jones Scholarship.

Tara comes from a family of entrepreneurs and started her journey when she created a restaurant blog detailing her dining escapades in San Francisco. The site quickly gained momentum, and she was able to secure sponsorships and attend experiences with local and international Michelin chefs. Tara's future goals include consulting for restaurants and the food industry, and counseling individuals with weight management and GI disorders once obtaining her RDN credential.

Past Outstanding Nutrition Entrepreneurs Award Winners

You will need Acrobat Reader to view this PDF file.    


Academy National Awards 

Recognizing outstanding registered dietitians and dietetic technicians, registered, who have demonstrated innovation, creativity, and leadership in a specific area of practice

Academy 2016 Media Excellence Award Winner

This award acknowledges Melissa Joy Dobbins, MS, RDN, LDN, CDE, for her significant contributions to the nutrition profession. With more than 20 years of extensive media experience, Dobbins has been a spokesperson for healthcare, grocery and food industries. She is a former spokesperson for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and a state media representative for Illinois. As the CEO of Sound Bites, Inc., Dobbins promotes “sound science, smart nutrition and good food,” helping people make health decisions based on facts, not fear. Dobbins has been praised for her media training workshops that empower and support other dietitians so they can enhance their careers, promote the dietetics profession and provide information to the public that is credible, engaging and actionable. Her “Sound Science Toolkit” helps dietitians communicate evidence-based information, and her Sound Bites Podcast interviews dietitians and other health experts about the science, psychology and strategies behind good food and nutrition.

Academy 2016 Consultation and Business Practice Award Winner

The opening statement in the Food & Nutrition article from April 2016 stated:   When Carol H. Elliott, RDN, LDN, FAND, opened her private practice in 1979, few if any nutrition counseling services were available. "Everyone was surprised because I was thinking outside the box, but I think it was the best decision," she says. "I have touched the lives of many and hope to continue for several years."   
Since the publishing of the Food & Nutrition article, Carol has been awarded with the Academy's prestigious Consultation and Business Practice Award and is well-deserving of it.